The Salted Pig

The pig has always been one of my favorite animals to eat; there’s just so much variety that comes out of a pig. Obviously then, when I heard about The Salted Pig‘s recent opening in Hong Kong, I knew I had to try it.

00MASPC1ECD1F7DF066917l

A casual eatery near Sheung Wan station, clients eat in wooden and creative environment. It’s definitely not fancy, which I like. It’s a place where you can come with friends and eat a porktastic meal – great for sharing.

To start: popcorn. Normal tasting, crunchy. What a popcorn should taste like.

IMG_5671

And Bread: I would have preferred one or the other


IMG_5676

Charcuterie Plate

I feel that every time I see this on a menu, I always give in. Here, were 5 kinds of ham cuts, as well as rillette, terrine and scotch eggs and piccalilli. I am a big fan of rillette (a preparation of meat similar to pâté. Originally made with pork, the meat is cubed or chopped, salted heavily and cooked slowly in fat until it is tender enough to be easily shredded, and then cooled with enough of the fat to form a paste) and was happy to see it was silky and smooth.

IMG_5677

It was good for Hong Kong standards, but having come from Spain where ham is King, it was about average. 

Crispy Skinned Pork Knuckle with sauerkraut, carrots, potatoes, and mustard

IMG_5682

The waiter then sliced and deboned it for the table

IMG_5684

I liked it but it was just a little too salty for my taste (and I love salt). I think it’s because they used an already brined pork knuckle. I also didn’t like the smokeyness and would have preferred something slow cooked. Still good though. 

Suckling pig with roasted vegetables

The best of the mains in terms of texture and taste. The meat was not dry, and the skin super crispy, but just a tad thick.

IMG_5680 

To accompany the meal: tomato sauce, mustard (too bitter) and BBQ sauce (too sweet)

IMG_5672

Side dish: Pancetta braised creamy Brussels sprouts (Crunchy, creamy – just right)

IMG_5679

It was overall a good meal but better come with a bigger group as it’s more fun to share. Next time I’d go for the crispy pork belly!

IMG_5686

The Salted Pig

Address:2/F, L Place, 139 Queen’s Road Central

Metro: Sheung Wan

Tel: 2870-2323

Website: http://thesaltedpig.com.hk

Closed: Sundays

Leave a Reply

